MICHAEL ROTHER plays NEU! & Harmonia & Solo Works + COLDER

MICHAEL ROTHER plays NEU! & Harmonia & Solo Works + COLDER




7:00 pm - 9:30 pm


This event has already happened, so can't be booked.


The Foundry. See venue details and map...


For many fans, musicians and critics alike the guitarist and multi-instrumentalist Michael Rother is a key figure of the innovative music scene originating from Germany in the early 1970s. His music has been inspirational for generations of musicians – from David Bowie, Brian Eno, Iggy Pop, DEVO, Sonic Youth, Stereolab, U2, Autechre, Radiohead, Primal Scream, and beyond. 

Michael Rother was a member of Kraftwerk in 1971 and formed the legendary bands NEU! (with Klaus Dinger) and Harmonia (with Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius of Cluster) before releasing nine solo albums. 

Since the official re-release of the NEU! albums in 2001 Rother has played in many countries around the world and collaborated with numerous musicians and bands: John Frusciante, Secret Machines, Benjamin Curtis (School of Seven Bells), Josh Klinghoffer, Red Hot Chili Peppers, FM Einheit (ex Einstürzende Neubauten), Mick Harvey, Beaches, Dieter Moebius, Boxed In and Paul Weller – to name only a few. 

In 2010 Michael Rother formed the live project Hallogallo 2010 with Steve Shelley (Sonic Youth) and Aaron Mullan (Tall Firs). Together they played numerous acclaimed concerts – e.g. ATP UK, Spain and USA. 

Between 2011 and 2016, Michael Rother toured many European countries as well as Russia, China and Japan. He also created film scores for the two feature films “Houston” and “The Robbers“. “Houston” by German director Bastian Günther was premiered at the legendary Sundance Film Festival and has since won several awards. 

In October 2015, Groenland Records released the career-spanning Harmonia boxset “Complete Works” for which Michael Rother contributed and edited archival recordings of the band. The release was welcomed by fans around the world and received great attention by the media as one of the highlights of 2015.

The February 2016 issues of Mojo and Uncut featured extensive interviews with Michael Rother and stories about his musical life. Iggy Pop invited Rother to present a 2-hour-program with a selection of his favourite tunes in Iggy Pop´s Radio Show @ BBC 6Music in February 2016 and Michael Rother played a sold out concert at Under the Bridge in London.

In October Michael Rother will present the ‘endless fast-forward’ music of NEU!  as well as tracks by Harmonia and from his catalogue of solo works. 

Michael Rother´s current live line-up includes Hans Lampe on drums and Franz Bargmann on guitar. Franz Bargmann is an ex-member of the Berlin-based band Camera. Hans Lampe contributed drumming on the album NEU! ´75 and was a member of La Düsseldorf.

With support from French electronic act COLDER whose set will include material from recent albums The Rain and Goodbye plus Many Colours.


  • Presented in association with  Goethe-Institut LondonInstitut Francais and the French Music export office.


Arts Council England
British Council
Heritage Fund
Key Fund
Department for Culture, Media and Sport